The Sling Diaries-Joy

sd joy

sd joy8

sd joy6

sd joy10

sd joy 7

sd joy 11

sd joy2

sd joy 4

sd joy9

sd joy collage

sd joy3

Being pregnant with Lucy was like being pregnant with a lion. Strong and spirited, her kicks made me double over. She danced into the world , practically delivering herself. Even the nurses looked stunned. We named her Lucy Luxx. Both mean light. And it fits her perfectly. She can light up even the darkest hour. Β She made me a mother.

Being pregnant with Mila was like being pregnant with a kitten. The smallest flutters, her kicks felt like a gentle burrowing. We considered a few different names. She was almost Rosie Lee. We decided on Mila because it looks and sounds so dainty. And we chose Valentine for her middle name because I knew she’d be so easy to love. I was smitten the moment I heard her tiny heart go lub-dub. She completed our family.

Β My girls are so different. One surprises me, the other comforts me. And while they both bring me the same amount of joy, it is in very different ways they both find joy in life.

Lucy is adventurous and expressive. She wakes up and runs to the sliding glass door and before she can fully greet us, she first greets the world. Soaking in the daylight, the first words out of her mouth are “can we go to the park?” She craves the fresh air and freedom.

Mila is precious and fragile. Nothing brings her more contentment then being held close to my chest. Or being wrapped in her fathers arms, warm and safe from the unknown. But it is watching her big sister that brings her joy. If you go through many of my photos holding or wearing Mila, you’ll notice she is smiling looking to the side. It’s Lucy she is smiling at.

afterlight (12)

This post is a part of the Sakura Bloom Sling Diaries
936133_470359789702880_970277169_n

12 thoughts on “The Sling Diaries-Joy

  1. absolutely perfect. Your words brought the pictures to life. I actually feel like I know your little girls. Lucy reminds me so much of Elliot. I think they would be buds. πŸ™‚

  2. Finally got around to read this! Sooo sweet!! I love your girls and your entries. I hope we can give Layla a sister one day πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

