Thanks dude.

  Been thinking about fathers a lot lately. This past week I know of one little girl who got to met her dad for the first time, I know of 3 boys who lost their father, a father I know posted a photo of himself painting his sons finger nails, Lucy’s biological father is so M.I.A. he forgot her birthday, and I heard from my own father for the first time in a long time. Its all made me think of my own girl’s relationship with Justin.
I’m not about to imply he’s some ideal super dad who like takes the girls on fishing trips or something along those lines. We have our fair share of “Dude!! You can’t give her candy at 9 o’clock at night.” And ” Oh you cant hold the baby with one hand? Seriously dude! It’s call a hip.” But all bickering aside I am continually amazed at how present he is for our girls. He’s thoughtful and takes a genuine interest in Lucy’s interests. He always gets her a surprise when he goes to the store. He says “Hi Mila!” back to her after every time that she goes “Hi Dada” even if she says it 10 times in a row. He makes the little efforts all day to really know his daughters.
Most importantly though he’s respectful to me and we get to show our girls a great example of what love and a healthy relationship should look like. That’s really the greatest gift he can give them. My own mother has a tendency to try and see the good in everyone. And makes excuses for people. She sees the entire story of a person and the life experiences that lead them to be who they are. Its sweet. I know. She has the biggest heart of anyone I’ve ever met. But when I took that quality in her and applied it to my own relationships, it back fired. And I made the mistake of making excuses for people who treated me bad. I’m glad Justin is someone who doesn’t require any excuses being made for him. He is a great husband, a great dad and a good person.
When our girls start dating and get into serious relationships, I hope that person treats them as wells as Justin treats us. And god help them if they don’t 😉

  

6 thoughts on “Thanks dude.

  1. Thank you Jill. What a huge compliment to me and to Justin! I’m glad you found a man who loves and cherishes you…and your beautiful girls.

  2. There are a few good ones out there. I know I found one (after my share of really bad ones). Glad you did too! I’d say we owe a huge thanks to their mamas/dads for raising them to be the men they are today.

  3. Sometimes I think you have to have it bad before you can appreciate the good. At least that’s how it was for me. I’m divorced from my girls’ dad and my guy now is the most wonderful man and father I know. It takes a special kind of man to come into the picture and love a child as if they were his own. I’m glad you found one, too. 🙂

    • Aww!! It’s so true. Before, with my first husband, I gave my time away for all the wrong reasons (cool car, in a cool band, I like his hair etc…). But then I learned to find a good guy, who is trustworthy and caring and then NEVER let him go. 🙂

Leave a Reply

